As fireden.net is no longer providing archives for /a/ /v/ or /vg/ the automatic redirect will be disabled after 12/31/2019 (http://b2x5yoqpispzml5c.onion)

SpaceX Falcon 9 Launch Thread - Starlink-2

No.11282358 ViewReplyOriginalReport
2020 edition

WHEN: Monday, January 6 9:19 PM EST / 2:19 UTC (January 7)
STREAM: https://www.spacex.com/webcast [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HwyXo6T7jC4]
Probability of weather delay: <10% [https://www.patrick.af.mil/Portals/14/Weather/L-1%20Forecast%206%20Jan%20Launch.pdf?ver=2020-01-05-115737-703]
Backup launch date: Tuesday, January 7 8:57 PM EST / 1:57 UTC (January 8)

Launch site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida (East Coast)
Booster number & previous flights: B1049.4 [Starlink May 2019, Iridium-8 January 2019, Telstar 18 VANTAGE September 2018]
First stage landing: Yes, on autonomous droneship Of Course I Still Love You
Fairing catch attempt: Yes; one half—on fairing recovery vessel Ms. Tree
SpaceX press kit: https://www.spacex.com/sites/spacex/files/starlink_press_kit_jan2020.pdf
Payload: 60 Starlink V1.0 satellites (no laser links yet) WITH new coating on one:
>"On this flight, SpaceX is also testing an experimental darkening treatment on one satellite to further reduce the albedo of the body of the satellites.”
Payload mass & destination orbit: >15,600 kg; 290 km @ ~53°; satellites will orbit-raise after deployment to 550 km

Payload information:
>https://www.starlink.com
>https://space.skyrocket.de/doc_sdat/starlink-v1-0.htm
How to view Starlink passes:
>https://www.tmahlmann.com/2019/05/how-to-watch-or-photograph-starlink/

Stats:
This is the 3rd launch of Starlink satellites. This will be the 48th landed first stage, 29th booster reflight, and 78th Falcon 9 launch. It is the 1st SpaceX launch of 2020.